Posted by: christheplumber | August 27, 2007

Old Wood Lathe. Click to inlarge.

wood-lathe-003.jpg  I did a google serch for this, I typed in used wood lathes in Denver………. To me it looks like i’t’s never been used! The story behind this go’s like this. I asked how old it is? He was not sure, but he told me that his brother got it from his father’in-law. His brother passed away last year. I did some checking, I think it’s comes from the late 30’s to 50’s somewhere in there? the paint is still new looking, I think this thing set for years!!!

I also was given wood turning tools, I priced them about 50 bucks for each one, he gave me 4. The motor is like new, it had a small of wood dust in it, I blew it out with my compresser. With a 48” wood lathe I can make a lot of things, but pens it what I”m going to make.

I found a web site that has old machines, I saw mine but different colour.  Mine is like a gray blue the colours date the time when it was made.  http://owwm.com/MfgIndex/Detail.asp?Tab=PhotoIndex&ID=657


Responses

  1. Ya I have a wood lathe like this thats green and looks like it has original paint. im not sure of the brand.

  2. Howdy I am so excited I found your site, I really found you by accident, while I was researching on Askjeeve for something else, Anyhow I am here now
    and would just like to say many thanks for a remarkable post and a
    all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I
    have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the excellent work.


Leave a comment

Categories