Posted by: christheplumber | May 15, 2008

Yes I’m Washed up!

            After yesterday I noticed that I don’t have the speed anymore. Man it’s been a long time sense I’ve been working like a plumber on a remodel. I drilled my own holes for water pipping and cut my own copper. We have a new man he’s young but not to bad. I did notice him sitting as Joe was working and how I know this, I stuck my head under the house. This house was built in 1924 my buddy opie was the first to live in it. . . .just kidding!! I can tell I’ve lost some of my speed tricks, but I do remember them and I don’t plan to keep doing this. I could feel the strain on my legs, I worked all day with a broken Brace it’s like having a heavy  frame on your leg that don’t work. Oh it’s my own doings I can come up with many excuses and all hold water, but I should not do this to my self, it’s a Love Hate thing with my brace. I was so tired yesterday, so I can come to terms with this, I’m almost 51 and I paid my dues in the field. This job is for the young boys!!!!!!!! But here’s my thing, I want to dig down inside of me and pull more out, I can see the end near for me, and I’m not ready. . . But I will say this! I went many more years then most. I would have to say that coming from where Karen and I came from we’ve done well, and I’m not about to give up. I have to figure out how to get all I got going done and on time, more job’s are flowing in so I think I’m going to get springs, bearings, set screws and oil. Put some Power back into it!! I’ve never wore out a brace this bad or run one that ragged. When I walk I sound like I’m getting no oil to my lifters or that I had a rod go!! So first thing to do is to get new parts today. So today I think first call is to the brace shop. And then I can run my calls and feel like I just got a tune up! Now here’s where it gets fun, I can do what ever I put my mind to, I’ve proven that many time. So maybe it’s time to say Chris it’s done, and you can move on to bigger and better things?

                 I think it’s time for Joe to step up to the Plate and get moving or get out of the way and let me put someone in to plumb my way! He’s so close and I’m so tired.

It just works out sometimes that the best is well worth the wait and to know your son is running things and doing a good job to my standards.

                


Leave a comment

Categories