Posted by: christheplumber | May 16, 2008

Who Put Drano in the fish tanks?

 This is not what I worked on today but close. I got a call today and was told that a plumber and a store employee of the store Put Drano in a fish system to clear a stopped up drain! Never in 3 decades have I heard of such a thing, and to think that two stupid  people could come together at one time and by some chance out of a thousand or more store across the country I get the call that someone put drano in a fish system to clean out the drain pipes. . . What the @#$$% was they thinking?

              As I was driving down there and it’s a long way and we get drive time, I was thinking on how I was going to do this with out killing the rest of the fish. . or was any still alive? We get there and I see some fish and I got to figure out what is going on? I talk with the man who put the Drano in the tank who was suppervised  by the Plumber, I was shocked but held inside what I was thinking! so here’s what I did, I emptied the tanks in question, broke down the drain fittings and cleaned out the line and ran the rest of the contaminated water into a bucket, I did this several times and cleaned the fittings, oh I also found a leak on the warm water UV bank, no biggie fixed and moved on! I called the store a few min. ago and had no dead fish. . .only one person did not believe that there would be no deaths, I was not for sure, but I did my best to make sure I got it all out. . . .and I think I did!!!


Responses

  1. I’m still surprised that the Drano didn’t contaminate the lines & get into the sump. At least the fish are ok.

  2. You sell me short. . . .I”m fishco!!!!! and I had a plan to save the fish, I knew that I had to get it all out, and I think I did!

  3. […] even I know that when the label says, “This is a poison,” the product is probably a poison. […]


Leave a comment

Categories